Commission: 42 burn bans in effect across Arkansas - KATV - Breaking News, Weather and Razorback Sports

Commission: 42 burn bans in effect across Arkansas

Posted: Updated:

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Forestry Commission says burn bans are in effect in 42 counties as all of the state remains under high wildfire danger.

Humidity levels across the state Sunday may be no more than 35 percent and wind gusts may exceed 10 mph, all of which can contribute to high fire activity. The highest fire danger will again take place in northern Arkansas.

On Saturday, wildfires burned in the Calhoun, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Faulkner, Jefferson, Logan, Nevada, Saline, Union, White and Yell counties. As of Saturday afternoon, fires were still burning in Cleveland, Grant and Sebastian counties.

To report a wildfire, or inquire about wildfire danger, call the Arkansas Forestry Commission Dispatch Center at 1-800-468-8834.

An updated burn ban map can be viewed at

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.