Conway needs votes, finalist in national dog park contest - KATV - Breaking News, Weather and Razorback Sports

Conway needs votes, finalist in national dog park contest

Posted: Updated:

(KATV) Conway is in the running for a local dog park. It is in the top 15 out of more than 400 cities that applied.

The PetSafe "Bark for Your Park" contest is going "dark" in order to surprise the five winning cities when the results are announced on July 31.

Five of the top vote-getters will win a share of $200,000 to build off-leash dog parks in their communities.

Funding would be used for fencing, sitting areas, lighting, waste stations and water access. The park will be constructed at the Don Owens Sports Complex.

Starting at 5 p.m. on July 19, the contest will enter the "Howl at the Moon" phase for the last week of voting, during which the leaderboard posted on the PetSafe website will be taken down.

"Now is the time for an enthusiastic final push for votes from all of your city supporters as well as friends and family across the nation," said Randy Boyd, president and CEO of Radio Systems Corporation, maker of the PetSafe brand. "We've been amazed by the passion and commitment of these 15 finalist cities, and we're looking forward to all of them achieving their dog park dreams. We have no doubt they all have momentum to do so."

"Until then, we can't wait to surprise five lucky cities with the news that they'll be $25,000 – or even $100,000 – closer to making those dog park dreams a reality," Boyd added. "Best of luck to everyone during the last week of ‘barking!'"

Judi Standridge, Friends of Conway Dog Park committee member says online voting ends July 26 and the winners will be announced July 31.

You can vote twice a day by voting once at and once through Facebook.

Conway has also started a video campaign.

The 15 "Bark for Your Park" finalist cities, which are divided into three groups based on relative population size, are:


Brighton, Tenn.

Mountain House, Calif.

Pontiac, Ill.

Safford, Ariz.

Silver Cliff, Colo.



Auburn, N.Y.

Mason City, Iowa

Oxford, Ala.

West Columbia, S.C.

Wheeling, W.Va.



Conway, Ark.

Corpus Christi, Texas

East Hartford, Conn.

New Braunfels, Texas

Texarkana, Texas