Morrison Named Finalist For Lou Henson Award - KATV - Breaking News, Weather and Razorback Sports

Morrison Named Finalist For Lou Henson Award

Posted: Updated:

ORU star Dominique Morrison is up for a post-season award.

Dom-Mo is in the running for the Lou Henson Mid-Major Player of the Year Award. For the first time in college basketball history, students will lead campaigns on-campus to help their nominee win.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

Schools with Lou Henson nominees will activate grassroots campaigns on-campus to galvanize the student body in support their nominee and encourage voting online. POINT 3 will make a contribution to the general scholarship fund of the school that accumulates the most votes, and throw their student body a viewing party for the NCAA men's basketball championship. Fans can vote online at

The 2012 Lou Henson Award nominees are as follows:
Julian Boyd, Long Island
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Torrey Craig, USC Upstate
Matthew Dellavedova, St. Mary's
LaRon Dendy, Middle Tennessee
Shane Gibson, Sacred Heart
Michael Glover, Iona
Reggie Hamilton, Oakland
Orlando Johnson, UC Santa Barbara
Jarrod Jones, Ball State
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Scott Machado, Iona
C.J. McCollum, Lehigh
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Tony Mitchell, North Texas
Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts
Kevin Murphy, Tennessee Tech
Mike Muscala, Bucknell
Kyle O'Quinn, Norfolk State
Lamarcus Reed, UT-Arlington
Zack Rosen, Penn
Gerardo Suero, Albany
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Kyle Weems, Missouri State
Nate Wolters, South Dakota St.

Fan voting presented by POINT 3 counts for one-third of the criteria in selecting the Lou Henson Award winner.  A Selection Committee will make up the remaining two-thirds.  The winner of the 2012 Lou Henson Award will be announced on March 30 in New Orleans, site of the NCAA men's basketball championship. Butler's Matt Howard was the recipient of the 2011 award.

POINT 3 Basketball ( is the only performance apparel brand dedicated to evolution in basketball gear. POINT 3 Basketball apparel can be found online at and at sporting goods specialty retailers across the U.S.